Electorates shuffled

Published on 28 October 2014

When Loddon Shire residents go to vote in next November’s state election, lots will have changed.

After a major review concluded by the Electoral Boundaries Commission last year, Loddon will now be covered by four electorates – Murray Plains in the north, Ripon to the south, Bendigo East taking a piece on the eastern side and Bendigo West owning a sliver at the bottom.

The big newcomer is Ripon, with the present Swan Hill electorate swallowed by Murray Plains.

In the Legislative Council, Loddon Shire will in future come under both the Northern and Western Victoria Provinces, whereas, at the moment, we are Northern only.

It’s all about “one vote, one value”, a democratic principle which aims to see the divisions having the same number of enrolled voters, within a specified percentage of variance.

What all this means is that Loddon will in future have 14 sitting state politicians with an interest in the region.

Tagged as: