Crown Land Committees of Management

Crown land reserves have historically been managed by committees of management. This system of administration has evolved to include community groups, councils and statutory bodies. Importantly, members of the public have been involved in the management of Crown land reserves for over 150 years.

Managing Crown Land

A Crown land reserve is public land that has been set aside for public purposes for the enjoyment and benefit of the people of Victoria. Crown land reserves support a range of amenities and uses such as halls, libraries, theatres, showgrounds, gardens, bushland, zoos, foreshores, sports ovals, tennis courts, playgrounds, swimming pools and rail trails. Victoria has over 12,000 Crown land reserves. Crown land is still set aside today for the use and benefit of the general public.

The principal legislation dealing with the reservation and management of Crown lands in Victoria is the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 and the Land Act 1958.

Today, all committees appointed under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 manage their reserve on behalf of the State Government, and have responsibility and authority to manage, improve, maintain and control their reserve.

Types of Committees of Management

Committees of management can consist of locally elected or appointed citizens, a municipal council, statutory bodies or trustees. There are approximately:

  • 1,700 reserves managed by 1,250 local committees of management; and
  • 2,800 reserves managed by municipal councils as committees of management

Committees of Management Responsibilities

As well as meeting its obligations under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978, the committee is also bound by the laws that govern the wider community on matters such as employment, taxation, contracts, tenancy, licensing, and providing services.

Good Practice Guidelines

The Victorian Government has prepared Committee of Management Responsibilities and Good Practice Guidelines 2015, which are available to guide and assist people who have been appointed to a Victorian Crown land reserve committee of management